Lyla – CD


Avishai Cohen

Format: CD

Avishai Cohen’s ‘Lyla’ skillfully blends jazz, folk, and Middle Eastern styles, featuring virtuoso bass and contributions from Sam Barsh and Mark Guiliana. With its intricate arrangements and emotive melodies, the album captivates both jazz enthusiasts and newcomers.

Lyla – CD

Embark on an enthralling musical journey with Avishai Cohen's album "Lyla," a remarkable feat that demonstrates the artist's range and virtuosity. Distinguished by Cohen's exceptional bass work, the album showcases an extraordinary blend of genres, effortlessly merging elements of jazz, folk, and Middle Eastern influences. With "Lyla," Cohen challenges traditional musical norms, presenting listeners with an expansive, genre-defying project that lingers long after the last note has faded.

Teaming up with an ensemble of skilled musicians, including Sam Barsh on keyboards and Mark Guiliana on drums, the trio crafts a sublime auditory experience. The collaborative genius of these artists is evident throughout the album, particularly in the complex arrangements and harmonies that mark each track. Songs like "Lyla" and "Ascension" bring a depth of emotion and an intricate tapestry of sound, adding layers of complexity and meaning to the album.

Avishai Cohen also explores various cultural motifs, expertly weaving together threads of Middle Eastern, jazz, and even electronic music, creating an audioscape that's both global and intimately personal. It is this rich tapestry that elevates "Lyla" beyond the conventional boundaries of jazz, making it an immersive experience that beckons listeners to explore each note and rhythm in depth.

For the discerning jazz enthusiast, "Lyla" serves as a testament to Cohen's multifaceted musical talent and his ability to transcend musical genres. But the album isn't just for aficionados; its diverse range of sounds and rhythms make it accessible to new listeners as well, serving as an inviting introduction to Cohen's extensive body of work.

From the opening bars to the final chords, "Lyla" is a masterful composition that celebrates both the complexity and the simplicity of music, reflecting Cohen's lifelong passion for exploring the boundaries of sound. Each track is a voyage, an exploration that invites listeners to engage emotionally and intellectually with the music.

In summary, "Lyla" is not merely an album; it's a multi-dimensional musical experience. Whether you're a long-time fan of Avishai Cohen or are discovering his music for the first time, this album promises to be an essential addition to any music library. It's a nuanced, compelling work that demands attention and, most importantly, multiple listens.


  1. Ascension
  2. Lyla
  3. How Long
  4. The Watcher
  5. The Evolving Etude
  6. Structure in Emotion
  7. Hadsonit
  8. Come Together
  9. How Long (Reflected)
  10. Eternal Child
  11. Simple Melody

This album is also available as: