Continuo – CD


Avishai Cohen

Format: CD

“Continuo” by Avishai Cohen melds jazz with Middle Eastern elements, featuring stellar contributions from Sam Barsh, Mark Guiliana, and Amos Hoffman. From lyrical to rhythmic, the album is a must-have for any jazz aficionado, encapsulating Cohen’s diverse influences

Continuo – CD

Immerse yourself in "Continuo," where bassist Avishai Cohen masterfully fuses jazz nuances with Middle Eastern flair. Featuring evocative performances from a stellar ensemble, this album is a captivating journey through Cohen's rich musical tapestry, making it essential for jazz lovers.

Step into the expansive soundscape of "Continuo." This isn't merely an album; it's a journey led by the legendary jazz maestro, Avishai Cohen. In "Continuo," Cohen masterfully melds his deep-seated Israeli heritage with the captivating rhythms and harmonies of Middle Eastern traditions. Beyond the melodies and harmonies, it's Cohen's iconic bass lines that captivate, resonating with emotion and telling a tale of their own.

Surrounding Cohen is an ensemble of unparalleled talents. Sam Barsh communicates emotions, stories, and dreams through his piano, speaking a universal language of passion. Mark Guiliana's touch on the drums brings a rhythmic cadence that's pulsating and mesmerizing. Amos Hoffman, with his command over the traditional oud, bestows the album with a haunting beauty that lingers long after the last note.

Each track in "Continuo" showcases Cohen's exceptional skills as a composer. Songs like the evocative "Nu Nu," the energizing "Smash," and the deeply introspective "Elli" demonstrate the vast landscape of his musical imagination. The title "Continuo" is a reflection of the album's essence. It’s not a mere collection of songs but a fluid narrative, a seamless tapestry of sound that challenges and redefines the boundaries of traditional jazz.

"Continuo" is more than a musical composition; it's a dialogue of cultures. It celebrates the convergence of diverse musical heritages and underscores the transformative power of jazz as a universal language. For those who find joy in the confluence of intricate harmonies, multifaceted rhythms, and global influences, "Continuo" is not just music; it's an enriching journey that reinforces Avishai Cohen's place among the luminaries of contemporary jazz.


  1. Feediop
  2. Nu Nu
  3. Elli
  4. One For Mark
  5. Ani Maamin
  6. Emotional Storm
  7. Calm
  8. Arava
  9. Smash
  10. Continuo


  • Avishai CohenAcoustic and Electric Bass
  • Sam BarshPiano
  • Mark GuilianaDrums and Percussion
  • Amos HoffmanOud
  • Mikal KratzArt and Design
  • Daniel KedemPhotography
  • Ray JeffordProducer
  • Asher BitanskyAssociate Producer