Mission Statement – CD


Jimmy Greene

Format: CD

Jimmy Greene, the acclaimed saxophonist, explores love, faith, family, and more in “Mission Statement” with a stellar quartet and diverse musical styles.

Mission Statement – CD

Jimmy Greene, a renowned tenor saxophonist, gospel musician, and professor, embarked on his music journey in 1997, releasing eight studio albums. Avishai Cohen, the founder of Razdaz and a former bandmate, hails Greene as a trailblazing artist, likening him to jazz legends like Coltrane and Rollins.

"Mission Statement" features Greene's established quartet with Xavier Davis on keyboards, Reuben Rogers on bass, and Eric Harland on drums, a cohesive unit since 2002. The rhythm section provides a robust foundation, while guitarist Lage Lund adds his delicate touch, complementing Greene's vibrant saxophone.

The album's diversity shines through various styles, from funk in "Yeah You Right" to mysticism in "Love In Action" and bold rhythms in "Mr. Octopus." Notably, vibraphonist Stefon Harris joins for a captivating performance in "Revelation."

"Mission Statement" is a deeply personal project, reflecting Greene's life experiences, including love, faith, family, and childhood. The music conveys his joys, struggles, curiosities, and discoveries in a straightforward yet profound manner. It's an elegant interplay of musical worlds, showcasing Greene's multifaceted artistry and storytelling through melody, theme, and improvisation.


  1. Mission Statement
  2. Fathers And Sons
  3. Trials
  4. Love In Action
  5. Revelation
  6. In Nelba's Eyes
  7. Yeah You Right!
  8. Mr. Octopus
  9. Ana Grace
  10. Give Thanks